40 what?!?

Posted on Updated on

Hangers.  40 hangers. 

Allow me to backtrack. I have been reading this blog that has been BLOWING MY MIND. Seriously. ..

I want to be like Ruth when I grow up.

She wrote this post and it was like a dagger to the gut.

Remember our resolutions this year? BE SIMPLE was practically screaming at me.

Laundry is my nemisis. I would rather clean 10 bathrooms then put away laundry. And part of the problem was the excess. I was at the point where I had to do the delicate dance of pull the hangers apart and stuff the next one in as fast as possible before I got sucked into the vortex.

So last Thursday, I did it.

I purged.

Like BIG TIME.

I wish I had the before picture but then again maybe not. It was shameful.

image

Put it like this. These are all the hangers I am getting rid of. Actually these are all the NICE hangers I am getting rid of… i threw the other horrible ones away but they could have filled another bag by themselves.

image

image

image

image

You guys. The hangers don’t have to touch! There is calm, order & peace in my closet. I actually slept with the door open that night so I could admire it.

image

Closet floor? Needs to be vacuumed. Mercy.

Ok. So I didn’t end up with exactly 40. Technically I have 66 (why?!?) hangers in my closet but it’s still a whole BOAT load less than I started with.

I also went through all of my drawers. Emptied 3 & gave them to hubs.

And it feels good. Like really really good.

I think I have 1/3 of my original wardrobe left.

I listed a bunch of stuff to sell on Vinted (username yellowmedaisy if you are interested). I’m giving myself 2 weeks to sell it then I’m donating whatever is left.

I also put 2 (ok 3) bags of clothes to store in the garage. I have a date set on my calendar in 6 months to go through it. Whatever I am not willing to swap or wear gets sold/donated.

I have a new rule. Anything bought has to replace something in the closet. I even put washi tape on each hanger so I can’t sneak new ones in.

Now I need to come up with new outfit combos. Good thing I have a fashion blogger bestie to call on.

I feel clean. Simple. It was the goal.

Anybody need some hangers?

Leave a Reply

