I’m freezing!!

Posted on Updated on

Just kidding.  We live in San Diego.  Every once in awhile I get a little chilly so I throw on a sweater.  🙂

Today I am talking about meal planning.

image

In November I posted this pic on Instagram and my feed blew up. My momma friends wanted to know. So here it is. The know.

It all started because of a horrible day. One of those days when EVERY ONE is crying.  At 5:00 when I was trying to get dinner on everyone needed something and needless to say we ended up getting pizza.

Enough. I was tired of the 4-5pm bewitching hour. I needed a solution . I didn’t want to think about dinner all day long. I didn’t want to spend a long time cooking, yet I wanted my family to have fresh healthy meals without breaking the bank.

I also liked the idea of traditional freezer cooking,  but I don’t love reheating cooked food.

So I decided to prep. I prepped 25 meals in 1 day and froze them raw. Each morning Ronnie chose what we were going to have, I thawed it, then we either threw it in the crock pot, on the grill, or in the oven. I added a simple side and BOOM dinner. No stress. 

Those 25 meals lasted till this week (mid January). Granted we have a family night dinner every week where my mother in law cooks (spoiled!!), we got really good at eating our leftovers,  & holidays helped a lot.

So this week I did it again .

We (my mom came down to help/watch the kiddos) started with green smoothies.  My fam bam and I have one every morning.

image

We made smoothie bags (30 of them!). I add water, a splash of juice, & a smoothie bag. Easy peasy.

Then we prepped the meals.

Ahead of time I sat down with recipes.

image

**disclaimer.  This is the first time I have been able to eat cheese in a year, this is not the healthiest example of our meals. Grace please**

I planed out 6 meals, which we doubled.  And I wrote out meticulous lists. And my mom let me go shopping alone (the key!!)

image

Then we hammered it out.

Iimage

I used my foodsaver but plastic bags would work great.

It took about 4 hours, but it saves endless time over the next month & a half.

The other bonus is I come in WAY under budget. Because I have planned, there isn’t any “last minute” run to the store trips. I continue to buy fresh fruit & veggies but overall, I’m done shopping for awhile.

I couldn’t recommend it enough. Seriously.

image

Blessings from our family to yours! !

Leave a Reply

