Thank you for the mermaids

Posted on Updated on

That was Zoie’s prayer this morning during Bible Time (a.k.a. Breakfast)

We were talking to the Littles about how to pray to God using the ACTS acronym.

A – Adoration

C – Confession

T – Thanksgiving

S – Supplication

This is something I have only recently become consistent with and it has been such a blessing. So today I made these little flash cards to help explain it to the girls.

image

We start with ADORATION. A time to praise God for simply being God.

“O Lord, our Lord, How majestic is Your name in all the earth! you have set Your glory about the heavens!” Psalm 8:1

“Great and marvelous are Your works, Lord God Almighty! righteous and true are Your ways, King of the nations! Who will not fear You, O Lord, and glorify Your name? For You alone are holy.  All nations will come and worship before You, For Your righteous acts have been revealed.” Revelation 15:3-4

I loved hearing the girls prayers. “God you are good, you are pretty, you made everything.” Out of the mouths of babes.image

Confession. A time to confess any sin, even the hidden sin in our hearts. We explained it as being sorry for our sins. Pennie prayed “I’m sorry for doing all the naughty things!”

“Your eyes see the way people live, and You see all their steps.  There is no darkness or deep shadow where people who do evil can hide.  You do  not need to examine them further, that they should come before You in judgment.” Job 34:21-23

 
image
Thanksgiving. A time to simply Thank God for His many blessings. This is when Zoie chose to thank God for the mermaids. 🙂

“I will remember your works, O Lord; Surely, I will remember your wonders of long ago. I will meditate on all your works and consider all your mighty deeds. Your way, O God, is holy. What God is so great as you? You are thr God who works wonders; you have revealed your strength among the peoples. You redeemed your people with your power, the descendants of Jacob & Joseph. ” Psalm 77:11-15

image

Supplication. A time to make your requests known to God. The girls asked for boo boos to be healed and for a great day. It starts simple, but I know God heard their request.

“When I ask, it will be given to me; when I seek, I will find; when I knock, the door will be opened to me. For everyone who asks recieves; everyone who seeks finds; and to everyone who knocks, the door will be opened.” (Matthew 7:7-8; Luke 11:9-10)

Prayer is one of the best gifts given. I’m so thankful my kiddos are kinda getting it.

Blessings from our family to yours!

Leave a Reply

