Skyridge House: Family Room

Posted on Updated on

Today I wanted to show you our family room. This is one of my favorite places in our home.  I snuggle up here every morning for my quiet time.  I light the fire, grab a blanket, light a candle, and study. Its a cozy corner and very special for me.

Before:

140023397_11_0140023397_7_0

We split this room into two separate areas… A family room by the fireplace and a home-school room underneath the lights.

What we did:

  •     Replace flooring
  •     Replace baseboards
  •     Painted back of bookshelves
  •     Replaced windows
  •     Scraped ceilings

 

Here is the after:

family room edit

family room edit 2

What we still want to do:

  • Add crown molding
  • Have fireplace mantel built
  • Have doors built for bottom half of the shelves for concealed storage
  • Sew valance for windows
  • Replace our hand me down couches with matching love seat/couch set

I love this spot.  The kids play closet is right around the corner and the kids love to pull out their toys or books onto the rug and play while I read or teach home-school.  We are so blessed by this house.

One more before/after.

combine_images

Hope you have a blessed day!

 

 

Leave a Reply

