Day in the life…

Posted on Updated on

I really enjoy when bloggers do “day in the life” posts. Apparently I love peeking into other people’s lives… #creeper?

I actually get a lot of questions about my schedule because of homeschooling. Before we started schooling I was curious myself, what does a homeschooling day look like?

So here is my feeble attempt at a “Day in the life” post. Please forgive the poor quality of photos, they were all taken with the camera phone.

WARNING!! This is a picture heavy post!!

image
5:30am. Wake up and start the day with some quiet time. I get cozy and read in the Word. I am naturally a very impatient person and spending time with the Lord is the ONLY hope I have of being a kind and patient mommy.
image

6:30am. I get my morning buddy. Pennie is my early riser. I used to fight it and send her back to bed but she would wake up her siblings and then everyone was grouchy. Now I get some one on one time with my middle kiddo and count it a blessing.
image

She played quietly while I finished my Bible study then helped me unload the dishwasher and start on breakfast.

7:30am. Breakfast.
image
Thank you Quaker Oats for helping me do a quick and easy breakfast of oatmeal for the kids. We sit together and do morning devotions & our manners book.

Then its upstairs to get dressed for the day and tidy up beds.

8:00am. Start Homeschool
image

Ignore the child laying on the floor, she was praying. We start with circle time every day. This includes our calendar, weather, shapes, colors, theme, & 100 day chart. We also spend some time reading out loud our thematic books for each unit.

9:15am. Gym
image
Waiting for my pilates class to start. The kids love the chance to run and play on all the equipment in the play room and I enjoy a mental break from teaching.

11:30am. A quick stop at the library to pick up books on hold. No pictures… It was survival of the fittest.

11:45am. Home!
Zone Checks for the girls while I make lunch, tidy the kitchen, & turn over the laundry.

image

12:15pm. Lunch (reheated coffee & Costco packaged salad for me… Hot dogs & apples for kiddos) & table time homeschooling.
image

image

image

1:00pm. Freddie goes down for nap and I’m folding laundry while Zoie finishes up table work and Pennie gets a Disney Jr. show.

image

1:30 PM Off to the other library… The nicer library. Its a bit out of our way but its on the way to ballet class. We use the library a lot!! I request books for our homeschooling themes and seasons then they are already ready for me when we arrive. Its awesome.

image

image

And the girls like the computers so BONUS!

2:00 PM to ballet class!!
image

2:15pm a tad bit early to ballet class so drinking my coffee and watching a “performance” of Mary Poppins on the playground.
image

image

2:30 pm. Driving home with this goober. I drop Zoie off on Fridays because Ronnie has to coach & Freddie is home napping. My mothet in love picks her up and brings her home. We may or may not have sang “Let it Go” at the top of our lungs.
image

3:30pm. Freddie boy is awake and we enjoy a little cuddle time & silly faces.
image

4:30pm. Spoiled!! Not only did my mother in love bring home Zoie girl but she brought me a latte too!! We sat by the fire and chatted for bit.
image

5:45pm. I’m out the door SOLO to pick up a friend and head out the movies. A bunch of girls from church are going to see Hunger Games and have dinner together to celebrate a birthday. Hooray for girls night out!!
image

7:30pm. After dinner with the girls the movie is about to start!!
image

10:00 pm. Movie over. Time for a silly group photo.

image

10:45pm. Crawl/Drag myself to bed. I may be an hour past my bedtime but those kiddos went to bed on time which means they will be up with the sun.

So there it is, a day in the life. Of course I don’t always get to end it with a fun activity… Normally its a show on TV with the hubs and off to bed… But it certainly was a good day.

Blessings!!

Leave a Reply

